Looking Back and Looking Forward

I know I’m about a month too late for this update.. but better late than never, right? 🙂

I’m going to take this time to reflect over 2012. Looking back, 2012 was probably one of the best years of my life. I started the year out by going out of the country for my very first time. Not only was I going with 2 friends– I was going to ITALY! That was a trip that changed me forever in ways that I am still discovering. I also got to meet Mandisa in 2012. Not just meet her– I got to go on STAGE with her! WHAAAAAT? Tooooo awesome. And then..in the summer.. I got to work at the Columbus Zoo. THE Columbus Zoo. The Number one Zoo in America. and I got to see manatees every day. If you know me, you know that in itself is life-changing. 🙂

My walk with God was also changed forever this summer. Read this to know what I’m talking about.

I also began my senior year of college at MVNU. REALLY??? Are we that old yet??

AND my best friend in the world got married to the man of her dreams this summer!!!! I am so happy for her and was honored to be involved in her big day. 🙂

DSCF0146

One of the biggest events that happened was on November 10, 2012. I was crowned the 2012-2013 MVNU Homecoming Queen. How unreal!! That was a true blessing. To know that the MVNU community felt that I was worthy to be crowned homecoming queen was truly a humbling experience, and I am honored to be able to represent this college– the place that has changed my heart and soul forever.

group hug cropped

Looking forward:

On May 11th of this year, I will be graduating college and entering the “real world.” While I am nervous about this transition, I know that God has some crazy awesome plans for me. 🙂 And who knows? Maybe this is the year that I meet the man that I’ll spend the rest of my life with.. Or maybe it’s the year that I bungee jump off of the empire state building. (Just kidding. I don’t think I’ll be going to New York this year. 🙂 )

I will also be going on my very first mission trip EVER! June 11-20 I will be going to the Dominican Republic with my church. I am so excited to be able to be God’s hands and feet while I am there!

I am nervous for what the road ahead looks like: a bunch of twists and turns. But those are in my tomorrows. and God tells us not to worry about tomorrow, because tomorrow has troubles of its own. I need to focus on today and He will MEET me in my tomorrow to guide me.

Tonight, I am going to bed with these words in my head:

I know Who goes before me
I know Who stands behind.
The God of angel armies
Is always by my side.
The One who reigns forever–
He is a Friend of mine!
The God of angel armies
Is always by my side.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Looking Back and Looking Forward

  1. Bethany says:

    Abby Sara. You are my hero. And I just cried reading this. I miss you so stinking much and I can’t even begin to tell you how proud I am to be friends with you, not just friends, but seriously you are one of my BEST friends. I am so blessed by you. Thank you for sharing this. I love you.

Leave a Reply

