New Leaves.. :)

Since the last time I blogged, I’ve gained another nephew! Ethan Andrew Graves was born on August 3rd!  It was so hard leaving him and Gannin and Ry, but I know they’re going to be great and I know I’ll see them soon!

I have been back at MVNU for over a week now. I love it. I am so blessed to have this job and to have my coworkers in my life. Sometimes, we don’t always notice our blessings, do we?

I was thinking the other day… sometimes we test our boundaries, don’t we? Like, we like to push ourselves to the edge of sinning, almost to see how far we can get without “actually” sinning… but the problem is: how do we know where the line is drawn? For instance: drinking. The Bible says nothing against just DRINKING alcohol.  There is record of Jesus drinking wine (regardless of how fermented the grapes were, He drank it. It wasn’t just grape juice. Those grapes had been sitting around for a while! 😉 ) But the Bible DOES say to not become drunk, because drunkeness ruins lives (Ephesians 5:18 NLT). So the problem is: we like to push to see how close to drunk we can get without actually being drunk. So what level of drunkenness is this verse talking about? The level of buzz that some people experience when they think they can still drive home? Or if you’re just tipsy enough that you kiss a few girls you’d never talk to in a sober state of mind while playing a fun game of spin the bottle? I don’t think Jesus accepts the conditional sin– like saying “well yeah, I’m slightly impaired, but I still have a solid state of mind.” I think drunkenness is drunkenness. It’s a different level for every person, but it still exists for EVERYONE… So why do we push the line? I’m not saying I’m against drinking. If you’re of legal age and you feel comfortable with having a drink here or there, then by all means, GO FOR IT! 🙂 but don’t test the boundaries with God. He has set them forth for a reason– if it’s hard for you to say no to just ONE more drink, then don’t start. 🙂

Also, I have decided: I am letting go. Of my friendships from home. I have been praying about it a lot and for the past year, I have found myself SO stressed out about keeping those friendships alive. It actually got to the point where I couldn’t sustain good friendships at MVNU because I was too concenred about what was going on at home. That’s not fair to the friends that I’m neglecting here. So I’ve decided: I’m not trying anymore. I can’t. If you’re from my hometown and you feel like this is a direct blow to you, then do something about it! YOU make the effort to get ahold of me–I will NEVER turn a friend away. I’m just WORN. OUT. I can’t waste my time worrying about a friendship when the person on the other end isn’t putting any effort into the relationship. So, from today forth, I am putting all of my energy into my friends HERE. With me. The ones that are investing as much time  in ME as I am in THEM.  If you’re up for it, the offer still stands. Let’s make it work, or let’s put it aside.

Life is SO good. People are SO good. God is SO SOVEREIGN. I ran across this verse today when doing my devotionals: “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters.” – Colossians 3:23″ I LOVE it. I love that God is saying “Abby, quit doing things to try to impress other people and do it for MY GLORY.” It’s funny how He gives you the words you need to hear when you need them the most. Sometimes, I work hard so that I look good. Not just at work, but in friendships, classes, and life in general! From now on, I want to work hard so that God is pleased. I want Him to say of me “This is my GOOD and faithful SERVANT, in whom I am well pleased.” I don’t want to serve myself, I want to serve OTHERS, so that I am serving the Lord.. this is my prayer…

I am so excited for the rest of the girls in the apartment to move in! I’m excited for a GREAT YEAR! and I’m excited for bed. 🙂

When the world says, “Give up,” Love whispers, “Let me help.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

