Sum sum summertime

This coming Friday, I will have been home for a month from MVNU. A MONTH! Is that crazy to anyone else or just me?

The past few weeks: quality time with Cherry before she went to Mississippi, then I started in on the lifeguarding. It feels like for the past 3 weeks I haven’t even changed out of my bathing suit (which isn’t necessarily true–I don’t wear my suit to church. 🙂 ) But seriously, I got SO pumped today when I pulled on jeans instead of my guard shorts. It’s the little things, I guess. 🙂

So I was thinking the other day of God and all of His greatness. Now, that’s not to say that I don’t think about how fantastic God is every day, but the other day, I contemplated it for hours on end. And I thought about Christianity related to Buddhism or Hinduism or Judaism or some other religions. Do you remember in like 3rd or 4th grade when we were first introduced to other religions on a real level? Remember how weird it was to see Muslims pray 5 times a day toward Mecca or to see people kneeling at the wailing wall? Remember seeing African tribes worshiping a burning calf? Or do you remember the customs that Hindus hold? All of these practices seemed so barbaric to us… But I bet Christianity looks like any other religion from the outside. It probably seems weird when people drop to their knees and pray toward the sky or seeing people jump around, looking almost possessed.

Then, my heart was troubled with this question: how can we live out our relationship with God in a way that is not only really to us, but others can also tell. We can proclaim on our facebook that we are “Christians”.. in fact, I would be interested to know how many people on their facebook declare to be a Christian? I bet it’s over half. Then, I wonder how many out of those actually live out their faith? In Other words- how many read the Word regularly, pray continually, and have a relationship with Christ? I would say that it’s a small fraction.

I think that’s why a lot of people despise Christianity– because they see people who are living a certain way and don’t see a differentiation between their sinful nature and the love of the Savior in their lives. Actually, their faith is oftentimes masked completely. I sometimes think Satan’s biggest billboard is a Christian to claims to love Jesus and desires to live in the ways of the Lord, but deliberately lives another way. I know what you’re thinking: “RED FLAG, ABBY! We need to pray for these people because they need help.” You’re right–they do. And I DO pray for them, because I know God is BIG and can turn them back and teach them to live according to His will, but I am just so shortfused when it comes to someone who does it daily.I have friends who were born and raised in the church and have parents who are on their knees more than they’re on their feet, and yet they still live in the way of the world. And it scares me, because they think they’re indestructible. I just hope that my prayers along with God’s plans align before it’s too late.

 

 

So Summary– Jesus is good. His will is good. Our religion is different than those false ones, and we need to do all we can to live for Him, no matter what comes next.

 

Lake the next 2 weeks straight.

Peace and LOVE! ❤

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

