Closing up.

In 24 hours, I will be finished with my Sophomore year of college. Isn’t that crazy? It feels like just yesterday, I was walking down N. Buckeye Street in my diaper, chasing after my siblings on their bikes.. and now I’m halfway done with college. 1 Question: where has the time gone?

This year has been one of serious growth. I mean, after freshman year, I was a totally different person, but now I’m even more different than then! Which means I’m not even remotely the same as the person I was when I graduated high school.
This year has stretched me in many ways. I moved in with girls I barely knew and felt very left out in my own home. I felt like I didn’t belong, but from that I learned patience. I prayed that God would take away those feelings of not belonging, and now these girls are some of the best friends I have!

I also entered the year in a major that I thought I wanted (see this post) but it turns out, God had other things in store for me. PRAISE HIM. He knows what He’s doing (as if I didn’t already know that? 😉 ) Right now, I have a 97% in one of my classes. I’ve never EVER done that in college. I didn’t even know it was possible. Boy, was I wrong. I say this constantly, but It’s crazy how you can get good grades when you love your major. 🙂 )

I have also been a stretch this year professionally. As most of you know, I LOVE my job in admissions at MVNU. But this year, I’ve been given a lot of new responsibilities at work–when Lauren left, I filled in for her position until Adam was hired, and then, when one of the supervisors had to step down, I stepped up. It’s been a roller coaster and challenging, but I LOVE IT. I didn’t know I was capable of a lot of what I’ve done, but doing this just solidifies that I am in the right major. Man, I LOVE IT.

Physically: To date, I have lost 55 pounds. You may say “oh my gosh Abby, that’s AWESOME!” And you’d be right… it IS awesome. But it’s also frustrating, because I haven’t lost any for a few months. I am losing inches, but no weight. But I am trusting that one day, I’m going to wake up, and all this hard work is going to pay off and this extra weight is just going to fall off (hey, a girl can dream, right?) I think this physical battle has brought me the closest to the Lord out of everything. It’s taught me self-discipline and has taught me that just because it’s available, that doesn’t mean I should eat it. And it’s taught me that Jesus has big plans in store for me–if I have the strength to do all of this, then what else can I do for HIS kingdom?

Spiritually– I lead a small group this year with my dear friend Jordan. it was a stretch because there were 8 girls that looked up to us for spiritual guidance. I went into it, thinking I had to be the perfect Christian example, but I learned that they don’t WANT that– they want a normal person. And I really think I learned more from them than they’ll ever learn from me. And I’m really going to miss them next year. But some of them are going to be SGLs themselves! I can’t wait to see how God is going to use them!

Agenda for this summer:
May 20th: Move out of MVNU/ reunion of  Erica, Abby, and Cherry/ reunite with Captain Jack Sparrow.
May 21st: Kera’s Baby Shower!
May 28th- start work at the lake
June 18th: Robby and Staysh’s wedding!
June 25th: Kali and Brandon’s Wedding!
End of June: VBS! 🙂
July 17-30th: CAMP!
Beginning of August: My newest nephew, Ethan Graves, is scheduled to arrive!!! 🙂
End of August: head back to the Naz!

I can’t wait for summer, but I don’t think I’m ready to say goodbye to MVNU just yet. But I’m excited for what God has in store.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

