Big Changes in Store.

I know many of you have been asking me what these big changes are that I’ve been alluding to. Rather than answer everyone directly, I figured it would be of MY personal best interest to announce it in a blog entry.

The Big Change?

.

.

Abby Anderson is no longer a Biology/Pre-Veterinary Major.

That’s right. I am no longer going to be a vet. Why, you may ask?

If you know anything about me, then you will know how utterly miserable I have been this year regarding my classes. I haven’t enjoyed them whatsoever. I LOVE MVNU, but I was dreading my classes. And I knew that something wasn’t right there.
Over Thanksgiving Break, I was getting my books out to study, and I just sat on my bed and began crying… like not even just subtly crying, but full out bawling. I probably haven’t cried that much in years. You know what it was? It was God cracking open my heart. He was saying “Abby, HELLOOOO. I’ve been trying to talk to you for 3 weeks now and you just would NOT listen, and I’ve had just about enough of it.” God and I talked for a bit and I realized that I am just NOT doing what He wants me to be doing. Looking back, the past 3 weeks have been almost unbearable for me, and I realize it’s because I’m not doing what He has in plans for me.Β  After a while of me talking with God, I walked out into our kitchen and, with tears running down my cheeks, I told my mom and brother that I no longer wanted to be a vet.

I felt like SUCH a disappointment.Β  For the past 17+ years, I have been regarded as “the girl who loves animals” or “the girl who’s going to be a vet” or “that girl that those animals love.” Everyone in my life has been expecting me to be a vet. My parents, friends, family. They all knew that I’d be a vet one day.

But God has different plans. As I sat down with my mom, we came up with ideas for a new direction in my life. God has given me a gift of being good with people. I love people. I love meeting people and interacting with people and making connections and forming relationships.It’s what I’m about.

So we came up with Public Relations. It just seemed obvious to us. That night, I went to bed and prayed about it.

The next morning, for the first time in a year and a half, I woke up not stressed like normal, but FULFILLED. Like, I just KNEW it was what God wanted for my life. I felt SO good. I mean, the Bible says over and over that we will not be happy until our lives rest in His purpose for us. And I finally know that’s what I’m doing. πŸ™‚
Today,Β  at about 12:02 pm, I officially switched my major to a double major in Marketing & Public Relations.

While this is scary, I know that’s what I need to be doing. I know that’s what I’ll be happy with. I know my life has a new direction, and I can actually visualize myself doing this profession in the future, unlike veterinary. I would try to visualize myself standing at an operating table over a pet, but I never could really see it.

Another thing that God said to me over and over the past few days is “Animals are your PASSION, but they don’t have to be your PROFESSION.”:) That’s been very comforting. I still want to do something with animals, like maybe do PR for the Zoo or the Wilds? πŸ™‚ And I still have the plan to open an animal shelter one day.
So yeah, Welcome to my big life change. I haven’t told a lot of people at this point because it’s so crazy. My identity is changing drastically, but my identity in Him is stable, and that’s all that really matters. πŸ™‚

And I know that the people in my life who love me and care for me will support me no matter what I decide to do. My true friends and my family will be behind me regardless of my major. πŸ™‚ And that means so much.

4 days of classes, 1 day of straight studying, and 3 days of finals and I’ll be home for Christmas Break! So a week and a half left of the sciences and then,Β  business and communications for me! It’s an exciting change. πŸ™‚

Please comment. Please leave encouragement. Please leave love. πŸ™‚ I’m still nervous about the change, but I know big things are in store for me. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Big Changes in Store.

  1. Dea says:

    Abby! Congrats on your decision! It takes a lot of bravery to switch your major so drastically a year and a half in but its so good that you feel so much better about what you’re doing. Thats what really counts. I’m glad you’re doing what makes you feel happy and it sounds like a perfect fit for you as well! You def are a people person!

  2. Helen says:

    You go girl!
    You will always have a soft spot for pets and I’m sure they’ll always be involved in your life.
    We didn’t expect you to be a vet, we just want you to do what makes you fulfilled.
    Love you,
    mom and dad

  3. Geoff Geyer says:

    Hey Abby…
    Thanks for sharing about God’s leading and your following. It is encouraging. And, as someone who switched majors late in his sophomore year, I can relate. Love what you said about your passion not being your profession. Much truth there. I’ve learned through watching friends and my own life that this is true. And, God has a way of knitting together our passions and past experience for his use as time goes by—this is always neat to watch happen.

    And, allow me to affirm that you are AWESOME in relating to people and making connections—so I join you in your excitement at what God may do through you as you pursue a new major(s).

    Blessings!

  4. Ben Betscher says:

    love you Abbs. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Closing up. | Ancient Callouses

Leave a Reply

